Weekend update

My husband got his Thai curry soft crabs on Friday night.  I called Thursday and ordered them from my friends at Graul’s and they were spectacular.  The crabs were big enough that we didn’t finish them and Keith got the leftovers for lunch on Saturday.  If you are one of my Baltimore friends and the descriptions of our Thai meals have your mouth watering, check out Ang Robinson’s classes at Roland Park Country School’s Kaleidoscope program.   Ang says that Christie and I have graduated now so I’ll miss seeing her.

Here is Keith enjoying his dinner:

I have jalapeno peppers in my garden that needed to be used so I made the jalapeno pesto for mussels and we had that for dinner Saturday night.  The weather wasn’t good so we figured it wasn’t a good night to grill.  Here is the recipe for the pesto – it freezes well and then makes for an easy dinner.

Mussels with Jalapeno/Parsley Pesto

Pesto

  • 2 Jalapeno Peppers, tops cut off and seeds removed
  • 1 head of Garlic, cloves separated and skin removed
  • 1 large bunch Parsley
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 TB Olive Oil

Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor.  Check consistency and add more olive oil if needed.  Here is a picture of the pesto:

  • Mussels (3 -4 lbs)
  • 4 TB Butter
  • 1 can or bottle light beer

Wash mussels.  In a large fry pan, melt butter and add 2 heaping tablespoons of pesto.  Add mussels and pour light beer over top.  Cover and cook until mussels open.  Serve in bowls with bread for sauce.

Keith had some Yuengling beer in the fridge leftover from a party.  He was trying to get rid of it as it is not his brand.  The original recipe calls for Amstel light but we usually use Coors light because we always have it on hand.  We used the Yuengling and were surprised by the difference – we didn’t like it as much.  Use light beer and preferably a premium brand.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a comment