Summer

Summer leaves me constantly feeling like my weekends are not long enough. I’m trying to squeeze so much in (golf, gardening, cooking, tennis, reading, crossword puzzles, etc.) I met my daughter at the pool this evening after playing golf and it would have been easy to succumb to the temptation of eating at the snack bar. Fortunately, because I had done the menu plan and been to the grocery store, I knew that dinner would come together quickly and that helps me maintain discipline. And dinner was delicious.

Fiery skirt steak

Dressing

  • 1/4 cup red wine vinegar
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, chopped
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup canola oil

Combine all ingredients except oil in a blender until smooth.  Slowly drizzle in oil with the motor running until emulsified.

Avocado relish

  • 2 avocados, pitted, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 1/2 a red onion, minced
  • juice of 2 limes
  • 2 TB canola oil
  • salt
  • pepper

Combine all ingredients in a bowl.

Steak

  • 1 skirt steak
  • 1 TB canola oil
  • salt and pepper

Brush steak with oil and season with salt and pepper.  Grill for 6-8 minutes and let rest for 5.  Carve against the grain.  Serve with dressing and avocado relish.

We paired this with zucchini and yellow squash sliced thinly and brushed with olive oil, crushed red pepper flakes and garlic powder and grilled.

Yum!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a comment