Late in the week

On Thursday nights my husband usually plays tennis.  That means we don’t eat dinner until later – usually about 8:00.  By Thursday, I’m tired and I want something that doesn’t take a lot of energy.  When I was doing the menu plan on Sunday, I remembered that I had some of that wonderful chipotle marinade still in the fridge.  (It’s a favorite since it is good on beef, chicken, pork and shrimp – probably on anything else you can think of.)  There were steaks in the downstairs freezer and a few red potatoes left from the last time I made the lemon chive potatoes.  And there were two half tomatoes left from the other night.  Quick to fix and delicious.

Chipotle Marinade

  • 2 chipotle chiles in adobo sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 3 TB tomato juice
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 2 TB sherry vinegar
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • salt and pepper

Combine all ingredients in a blender.  This makes enough for several meals.  We had it tonight with boneless pork chops –  I marinated them for a few hours in about 1/4 of the marinade and my  husband grilled them about 2 – 3 minutes per side.  The marinade has some heat so a mild side dish is in order.  The lemon chive potatoes go with it nicely.

Grilled Chive potatoes

  • red-skinned potatoes, scrubbed (3 per person)
  • 2 TB butter
  • 2 TB chopped fresh chives
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • juice of 1/2 lemon

Boil potatoes in salted water 25 –  30 minutes or until tender.  Cut potatoes in half.

Melt butter with chives and lemon zest.  Brush potatoes with chive butter.  Grill potatoes, cut side down until brown (3 – 4 minutes).  Drizzle with remaining chive butter.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a comment