Comfort food

As mentioned in my previous post, I let everyone pick a favorite meal for this week.  I wasn’t surprised that Keith picked these quesadillas.  Samantha doesn’t like shrimp so I use a smaller pan to saute her chipotle pepper and garlic and then add beans.  That also works as she can handle a lot more heat than I can so I added extra chipotle to hers.  She still said “Mom, it’s not that spicy.”  Showoff!

These could easily be adapted to your food preferences – chicken could be substituted for the shrimp, corn for all or some of the beans, more or less heat, etc.

Chipotle shrimp and black bean quesadilla

  • 3/4 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined and cut in half lengthwise
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1  – 2 tsp pureed chipotle pepper in adobo sauce (if you are making for the first time, start with 1 tsp until you see how much heat you like)
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1 can of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 3/4 cup Monterey Jack cheese (I actually used a mix of pepperjack and Mexican cheese blend)
  • 3 6″ flour tortillas (or 2 larger ones and then cut the whole thing in half)
  • 1 additional TB of olive oil
  • sour cream (I use reduced fat)
  • salsa
  • 1 avocado, chopped

Heat a skillet over medium heat.  Add olive oil, butter, garlic and pureed chipotle.  Stir to combine for 1 minute.  Add shrimp and cook until just done.  Pour in beans and combine.  Remove from heat to a bowl and stir in cheese so it partially melts.

Divide filling between tortillas, spreading on half of tortilla and then folding over.  Brush with olive oil.  Bake at 425 for about 10 minutes until top is golden brown and crispy.  Top with a dollop each of sour cream, salsa and chopped avocado (or guacamole).  Enjoy!

quesadillas

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a comment