Chicken with vodka sauce

I was trying to think of something different for chicken tonight.  (I was going to fall back on my boursin chicken but I’ve made that so much recently.)  I found a recipe for chicken breasts in tomato-cream sauce and thought that it would be even better if the tomato-cream sauce was a vodka sauce.

I used bone in chicken breasts, recognizing that they would take a little longer to cook.  I used a heavy saute pan to brown the chicken in olive oil on all sides while the vodka sauce was cooking.  When I removed the vodka sauce to puree it and add the cream, I poured some over the chicken and put it back in the oven to simmer in the sauce.  (The rest of the vodka sauce will be frozen for another time.)  I served it with orzo.  The chicken needed about 30 minutes but it was awesome – very moist.  Samantha tried it and announced that she would eat it the next time I make it.  That’s a good incentive!

Vodka sauce

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 large Spanish onion chopped
  • 1 TB minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1 cup vodka
  • 2 28 oz cans whole peeled plum tomatoes, drained (preferably San Marzano)
  • 1 cup half and half
  • pasta of your choice (we had penne)

Preheat oven to 375.

Heat oil over medium heat in an ovenproof pan (or Dutch oven).  Add onions and garlic and cook for 4 – 6 minutes.  Add red pepper flakes and oregano.  Add vodka and simmer for about 5 minutes or until reduced.  Crush tomatoes in with pan mixture.   Add 1/2 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper.  Cover pan and place in oven for 1 1/2 hours.   Remove from oven and puree in a blender or food processor.  Return to pan and add half and half.  Simmer for 5  -10 minutes.

img_3560

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

