Salad night

I was looking through a salad cookbook searching for inspiration.  I found an Italian salad with salami, prosciutto and Fontina cheese that sounded interesting.  I showed my husband and he pointed out a tuna with Asian slaw.  I was surprised as he usually isn’t as big a fan of tuna as I am but was happy to accommodate.  I tweaked a bit and here is what I did.  This is a nice healthy dinner if you are trying to eat lighter in the New Year.

Seared Tuna and slaw

  • 1 head Napa cabbage thinly sliced
  • 1 bunch scallions, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 2 TB mayonnaise
  • 2 tsp honey Dijon mustard
  • 1 TB low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 1/2 tsp minced fresh ginger
  • 4 TB canola oil
  • 2 TB sesame oil
  • 3/4 lb tuna steaks
  • additional canola oil for searing

Combine cabbage and scallions in a large bowl.  Whisk together vinegar, mayonnaise, mustard, soy sauce and ginger.  Combine oils in a measuring cup and whisk into vinegar mixture, pouring slowly and steadily.  Toss dressing with cabbage and scallions.

Season tuna with salt and pepper.  Heat a non-stick skillet over medium high heat and add about 1 TB canola oil.  When oil is hot, sear tuna about 2 – 3 minutes per side.  Remove from heat and slice.

Place slaw on plate and top with sliced tuna.

img_3540

 

 

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a comment