A new chicken dish

I was going through food magazines looking for inspiration (one of my favorite pastimes) and saw a chicken recipe that looked intriguing.  It sounded healthy and spicy and I thought I would tweak a bit.  The original recipe called for chicken thighs but I substituted chicken breasts.  The original also called for canned tomatoes but I have lots of assorted tomatoes from my garden so I used those instead.  Here is what I did:

Chicken Arrabbiata

  • 2 bone in, chicken breasts
  • 2 TB olive oil
  • 4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 3/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 2 cups assorted chopped tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock

Season chicken with salt and pepper.  Heat a heavy duty skillet over medium high heat and add olive oil.  Add chicken skin side down and cook until browned and crisp (5 – 7 minutes).  Flip and continue cooking until browned on the other side (3 – 5 minutes).  Remove to a plate.  Add garlic and red pepper flakes to pan and cook, stirring about 1 minute.  Add wine and scrape up any pan drippings.  Add tomatoes and chicken broth and bring to a simmer.  Add chicken skin side up and reduce heat to medium.  Cover and simmer until chicken is cooked through.  I served with steamed broccoli.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

