Menu swap

This week was a bit unusual in that I had chicken on the menu plan twice – once in the Southwestern Cobb salad and once in the chicken with coconut curry.  The coconut curry was inspired by the fact that we had a packet of Saffron Road coconut curry simmer sauce and we had leftover rice from ordering Indian carryout.  I’m not usually a fan of prepared sauces and marinades but we have had several of the Saffron Road and they have all been excellent.  I was going to have that on Thursday and the salad on Tuesday.  Then it turned out that Graul’s was out of bone-in chicken breasts on Monday.  I wanted to do the salad because I found Queso Fresco at Wegman’s!  It’s hard to find so I was psyched to find the real thing.  Delicious!

Southwestern Cobb Salad

Dressing

  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp dried chipotle pepper
  • 2 TB olive oil
  • 1 tsp honey

Shake all ingredients together in a glass jar with a lid.

Chicken

  • 1 bone in chicken breast per person
  • olive oil
  • kosher salt
  • pepper

Preheat oven to 375.  Toss chicken with oil and salt and pepper in a ceramic baking dish.  Bake at 375 for 30 – 40 minutes.  Remove skin and slice.

Salad

  • dressing (see above)
  • chicken (see above)
  • salad greens (tonight I used mache but I often use Romaine)
  • 1 avocado, pit removed and sliced
  • 3 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • cheese (preferably Queso Fresco but you can substitute goat cheese or feta)
  • fresh tomatoes (you can use salsa but I have delicious tomatoes from my garden)

Mound plates with lettuce and top with dressing.  Line up chicken, black beans, avocado, cheese, tomatoes and bacon.  Serve.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

