Flatbreads continued

We have had so much fun in the last few months experimenting with different flatbread toppings.  I put assorted flatbreads on the menu and then go the grocery store with an open mind.  I tried 3 different variations tonight (Samantha added her own option.)  All were quick and easy and I would have any of them again.  You brush the flatbreads with olive oil and then cook for 2 minutes, top with whatever and then cook for 4.  Here is what I did tonight:

  • Flatbread Caprese – topped with slices of tomato from our garden and fresh Mozzarella.  After removing from oven I added a basil leaf on each.  Delicious – Keith’s favorite
  • Garlic clam flatbread – I bought a dozen fresh clams, steamed them with a little white wine and then topped the flatbread with shredded Mozzarella, the clams and a little butter mashed with minced garlic.  Excellent – might have been my favorite
  • Honey glazed shrimp – Minced a shallot and sautéed in olive oil.  Added halved cleaned shrimp and cooked until just pink.  Deglazed pan with about 2tsp of cognac and then added about 2 tsps of honey and a tsp of butter.  Put on flatbread and then topped with mache when they came out of the oven.  Keith wasn’t wild about it – thought it was too sweet but I really like the combo.

And Samantha’s – tomato sauce, sliced Italian meatballs from Graul’s and shredded Mozzarella.  Lots of options and something for everyone!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

