Avoiding waste

I don’t like to waste food so I’ll often choose a recipe because it will help me use up something I have on hand.  At my grocery store, the asparagus is sold in packages that are bigger than I need.  I bought asparagus so I could use some in the grilled vegetable salad but I didn’t come close to using up all of it.  I found a recipe for chicken saltimbocca with asparagus that I tweaked a little bit.  It used up the asparagus, took advantage of the fresh sage in my garden and Keith loved it!  Talk about a win-win.

Chicken saltimbocca with asparagus

  • 1 whole boneless, skinless chicken breast, pounded flat between wax paper and quartered
  • 1/2 – 3/4 lb asparagus
  • 4 sage leaves
  • 4 slices prosciutto
  • 2 – 3 TB flour
  • 2 TB olive oil
  • 1/4 cup Pinot Grigio
  • 1/4 cup chicken stock
  • 1 TB butter

Cook asparagus in boiling water about 3 minutes.  Drain in a colander and run under cold water.

Season chicken with salt and pepper.  Place a sage leaf on each piece and roll with prosciutto.  Dip in flour.

Heat a heavy skillet over medium high heat.  Add olive oil and cook chicken about 3 minutes a side.  Remove to a plate.  Add wine and chicken stock and boil until sauce is reduced by about half.  Whisk in butter and return chicken to pan.   Add asparagus to mixture.  Cook until chicken and asparagus are hot – about 2 minutes.   Plate and eat.

I’m sorry that I forgot to take a picture because it was also pretty.  Keith’s first comment, “This would be good for a dinner party.”  High praise for a Monday night dinner.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

