Mixed seafood grill (bring on the mayo!)

I read a blurb in Food and Wine about using mayonnaise and lime juice as a marinade for grilled fish.  I thought it sounded interesting so I bought one salmon fillet and one tuna steak so we could experiment and see which we liked better.  I combined about 1/4 cup of mayo with juice and zest from 1/2 lime.  I covered the salmon and tuna with the mayo and then Keith grilled them.  Interestingly, although I generally like tuna better than salmon, in this case, we both preferred the salmon.  Good to remember as a quick and easy weeknight dinner.

While Samantha was spending the night at my mom’s recently, Keith and I had a delicious and interesting dinner at Parts and Labor.  It is a butcher shop and restaurant and extremely carnivorous.  We started with excellent house-made prosciutto and salami and incredible heirloom tomatoes on toast.  I had lamb chops and cauliflower and Keith had duck and a side of their “crazy corn”.  The corn was a take on Mexican street corn.  Although he was initially disappointed that the corn was on the cob with a sauce and rather messy, it was so delicious that he got over his initial concern and started wondering if I could replicate some of the leftovers.  We had leftover corn so I decided to try to make a variation.  Here is what I did:

Broiler Crazy corn

  • corn cut off the cob (about 4 cobs worth)
  • 2 TB sour cream
  • 1 TB crumbled feta
  • 1/4 tsp lime zest
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1/4 tsp minced jalapeño pepper
  • minced parsley
  • 2 – 3 TB mayonnaise

Combine corn with all ingredients except mayo in a  heavy duty ceramic baking dish.  Broil for 3 – 5 minutes.  Stir and top with mayonnaise and broil for 2 more minutes.  Serve.  This was really good.

 

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

