Pesto = Summer

I planted a bunch of basil this year.  It is probably my favorite herb and one of my favorite things to do with it is make pesto.  To me, pesto is the taste of summer.  I made my first batch and immediately used it to make shrimp and pesto pizza.  If you have a blender or food processor, you can make pesto.  (Technically you can make it in a mortar and pestle but I don’t think most of us are inclined to do that!)

Pesto

  • 2 cups of basil, rinsed and dried
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 2 TB pine nuts
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
Combine basil, olive oil, pine nuts, garlic and salt in a blender or food processor.  Blend until smooth.  Pour into a bowl and combine with cheese.  Refrigerate or freeze until ready to use.
Once you have your pesto, here are some things you can do with it (besides the obvious of putting it on pasta):
 – put on sliced tomatoes and then grill or broil
 – mix with sautéed corn, cut off the cob
 – spread on top of a boneless, skinless chicken breast (with or without sundries tomatoes), roll up and cook
 – spread on tilapia and bake
 – toss with shrimp and then broil or grill shrimp
 – serve with grilled or seared scallops
 – use on pizza instead of tomato sauce
 – use in lasagna as a substitute for tomato sauce in one of the layers
 – mix with mayonnaise and use as a sandwich spread or as the dressing on my soft-shell crab salad
If you search the blog for pesto, you’ll soon realize that it is one of my favorites.  I hope you like it as much as I do.  And if you love it but neglected to plant basil, there is always pesto available at the supermarket.

 

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

