Chicken tacos

I’m always looking at recipes in magazines and trying to find new ideas. (My favorite food magazine was Gourmet until it stopped publishing, I now get Eating Well, Cook’s and Food and Wine.)  When I see a recipe that sounds interesting I clip it out.  I have folders for categories (Appetizers, Salads, Seafood, Poultry, etc.)  I flip through those folders when I want inspiration for something new.  Often that recipe has something in it that I know isn’t going to appeal to our tastes.  These chicken tacos are a case in point.  The original recipe called for tangerines (which Keith hates and I thought sounded a bit weird.)  The adjustments I made were quite well received in our house – this will be a do over!

Chicken Lime Tacos

  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast per person
  • 1 tsp chipotle chile powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/4 tsp ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup reduced fat sour cream
  • zest from 1 lime, juice from 1 lime
  • 1 cup Napa cabbage, thinly sliced
  • 3 minced scallions
  • zest and juice from another lime
  • 4 TB white wine vinegar
  • 2 TB oil (I used a mix of olive oil and cilantro flavored oil)
  • 5 TB mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • small corn tortillas
  • sliced avocado
  • salsa

Combine chile powder, cumin, garlic powder, salt and pepper.  Pound chicken breasts to thin slices between sheets of wax paper.  Coat with seasoning mixture.  Grill chicken breasts 3 -5 minutes a side.

Combine sour cream with lime juice and lime zest.  Set aside.

Whisk together lime juice and lime zest (from second lime) and mix with vinegar, oil, mayo and sugar.  Toss with Napa cabbage and scallions.

Heat tortillas according to package directions.

Slice chicken and combine in taco shells with slaw and flavored sour cream.  Optionally add avocados and salsa.

Serve.  Delicious!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

