Variation on a theme

This weekend was crazy and I never had a chance to update the blog.  I formulated the menu plan in my head on the way to the grocery store on Sunday after church.  I was trying to think of what I had on hand.  I knew that I had bone-in chicken breasts in the freezer and I thought I had goat cheese in the deli drawer.  I was right about the chicken but wrong about the goat cheese.  Today I was thinking about options and I had an inspired (I thought) idea.  Since I needed to pick up something anyway, I would use Boursin.  I adore Boursin cheese and over the years I have used it with spinach on shrimp, in a potato gratin and to make an amazing turkey panini.

I had something at 6 so had the chicken in the oven for Keith to eat at 6:30 and me to eat when I got home.  When I got home he said that the chicken was amazing.  As I sat down to eat my dinner, Samantha asked if she could try the chicken.  Her comment “I don’t like it.  I LOVE it!”  Apparently this will be a repeat – especially if she’ll eat it too.  I served it with steamed broccoli.  Another one of those just a few ingredient winners!

Chicken Boursin

  • 1 bone-in chicken breast per person
  • 1 – 1 1/2 oz Boursin (or light Boursin) cheese per chicken breast
  • 1 tsp olive oil per chicken breast

Preheat oven to 375.  Place chicken breasts in a ceramic baking dish.  Gently loosen skin from chicken breasts.  Using your fingers, push the cheese under the chicken skin and spread evenly.  Brush chicken with olive oil and season with pepper.  Bake for 45 minutes and serve.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

