A new side for roast chicken

We love having roast chicken and we haven’t made it in a while.  We’re running low on chicken stock so I thought it would be a good night for roast chicken.  I found a recipe for roasted squash that sounded interesting.  Here is what I did:

Roasted butternut squash

  • 20 oz butternut squash cubes (you can be ambitious and peel it and cut it up but I decided to take the short cut
  • 2 TB olive oil
  • salt
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • grated zest from 1 lime
  • juice from same lime
  • 1 tsp minced jalapeno

Preheat oven to 425.  Toss squash with 1 TB olive oil and salt.  Roast for about 25 minutes, tossing halfway through.  Heat remaining olive oil in a small pan over low heat with garlic and cumin.  Garlic should be golden but not brown.  Remove from heat and stir in lime juice, zest and jalapeño.  Toss cooked squash with seasoned oil and serve.

When Keith first tried the squash he said “Interesting”.  I said “Interesting good, or interesting but I don’t want it again?”  He liked it.  It is interesting and probably better with something like roast chicken that doesn’t have strong flavors itself.  I think next time I might skip the lime and just use the cumin and garlic.  It was also pretty!

Roast chicken and butternut squash

Roast chicken and butternut squash

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

