Adaptations

On Thanksgiving morning we went to the gym for a preemptive strike on the calories.  While I walk on the treadmill I watch cooking shows.  I happened upon a Bobby Flay barbecuing show and he was grilling a marinated beef tenderloin.  I love beef tenderloin but I don’t like a lot of strong flavors overtaking it (especially at the cost of beef tenderloin).  I thought the marinade would be good on a pork tenderloin and at a cheaper price (especially because pork tenderloins are on sale at Graul’s).

Here is what I did:

Ginger marinated pork tenderloin

  • 1 bunch scallions, chopped
  • 1 small piece of ginger, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
  • zest of 1/2 lemon
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 2 TB canola oil
  • 1 pork tenderloin

Place scallions, ginger, pepper, lemon zest and lemon juice in a blender and puree until smooth.  With motor running, slowly add canola oil.  Place pork tenderloin in a bag with marinade for at least 4 hours and up to overnight.  Grill, searing the outside on both sides.  Close grill and grill about 10 minutes.  Cover with foil and let rest for 10 minutes and carve.  Serve with:

Cumin potatoes

  • red potatoes
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 TB white wine vinegar
  • 7 TB olive oil

Boil potatoes until tender.  While potatoes are cooking, heat cumin in a nonstick pan for about 2 minutes, tossing.  Whisk together vinegar and oil with cumin.  When potatoes are tender, remove from water and gently mash and toss with cumin vinaigrette.  NOTE: Bobby grills the potatoes in a grill basket but it’s raining so I wanted to minimize Keith’s time in front of the grill.  🙂  I love these potatoes – a definite do-over

Spicy grilled pork with cumin potatoes

Spicy grilled pork with cumin potatoes

 

 

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

