A woman’s prerogative

If you follow blog you know that I tend to stay with the plan that I make for the week.  It is rare for me to deviate.  This week has been unusual in that I’ve made two last minute substitutions.  One was a minor variation and one was more major.  First, the minor deviation.  I had planned to roast a pork tenderloin last night to have with the leftover Asian coleslaw.  While I was looking at my Thai recipes for the Drunken Noodles on Monday I noticed the recipe for grilled skewered pork (Moo Yang).  I realized that it called for coriander root (cilantro stems) and that I had leftover cilantro in the fridge from the chicken I made for the potluck.  All of a sudden I got a craving for the grilled pork so I swapped out.

Thai Grilled skewered pork

  • 1 pork tenderloin trimmed of fat and thinly sliced into strips against the grain
  • 1 can coconut milk
  • 2 TB coriander (cilantro) stems, chopped\
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 TB black peppercorns
  • 2 TB rice vinegar
  • 2 – 3 TB brown sugar
  • 2 TB dark soy sauce
  • 1 TB fish sauce

Place pork strips in a dish.  Grind pepper, coriander stems and garlic together in a mortar and pestle until they form a paste.  Whisk sugar, soy sauce, vinegar and fish sauce together and then add in about 1/3 cup of the coconut cream that is on the top of the coconut milk.  Pour into the mortar and pestle and stir together.  fMix well and pour over pork.  Marinate for at least an hour and up to all day in the fridge.  Skewer pork strips and broil or grill about 4 minutes a side.  Serve over rice.

Tonight was supposed to be flatbread but when I was at the grocery store I saw bouillabaisse in the prepared foods section.  That got me thinking about a bouillabaisse inspired flatbread topping.  I didn’t want to try to pull that off on a Thursday night so I subbed in crab cakes with roasted asparagus tonight and will do some bouillabaisse research in preparation for a Friday night experiment.  I’ll let you know what happens.  (Crab cakes are already on blog so feel free to search.)

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

