More potluck

In the last week I have contributed to 3 different potluck events – a pumpkin decorating lunch, an office lunch party and a pre-Trick or Treating neighborhood gathering.  I made the Cajun chicken pasta salad for the first one and it was so enthusiastically received that I decided to make it again for the second one.  By the third, I was ready for something different.  The neighborhood gathering is a fun tradition where families gather to eat and drink until the kids peel off for Trick or Treating.  There are always a couple of pots of chili and a variety of appetizers.  With potluck I always look for easy to transport and no work once it arrives other than to uncover and eat.  This fit the bill and will definitely be called on again:

Grilled chicken skewers with avocado sauce

  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into about 1 inch cubes (I got 50 pieces)

Marinade

  • juice from 2 limes
  • 2 TB honey
  • 4 TB olive oil
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup cilantro, finely chopped
  • salt and pepper

Sauce:

  • 1 avocado, pitted
  • 4 scallions, chopped
  • 1 TB red wine vinegar
  • 1 TB olive oil
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Combine all marinade ingredients and toss with chicken.  Refrigerate for at lest an hour and up to a day.  Soak 6 inch wooden skewers in water while chicken is marinating and then skewer one chicken cube on each skewer.

Broil skewers about 5 minutes a side.  NOTE: I lined my pan with aluminum foil and put the skewers on them.  I did them in our countertop oven and needed to cook in batches as a result.  The skewers started to brown in the first batch even though they had been soaked in water so I figured out that covering the skewers in foil helped to keep them from burning.

For sauce, combine all ingredients in a blender.  Cover and refrigerate until ready to serve.  NOTE: If you push plastic wrap flat on the surface of the dip it will keep it from discoloring.

Grilled chicken skewers with avocado sauce

Grilled chicken skewers with avocado sauce

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

