Using leftovers

I hate wasting food.  We are so fortunate to be well fed and I know there are hungry people both here at home and all over the world.  Last night and tonight were focused on using leftovers.  Keith had a meeting last night so I made chicken salad with the leftover chicken from Sunday night.  The chicken was so moist and tender there wasn’t much leftover but I made my favorite chicken salad (quantities obviously vary based on how much leftover chicken you have!):

Roast chicken salad

  • leftover chicken from a roasted chicken, chopped
  • celery, finely chopped
  • shallot, minced
  • thyme
  • garlic powder
  • Worcestershire
  • celery salt
  • mayonnaise

Combine all ingredients.  Taste and adjust as needed.  Serve by itself or as a sandwich or on lettuce.  Delicious!

Tonight I had planned on having assorted flatbreads, continuing my flatbread experiment.  However I was low on flatbreads and had a pizza crust in the freezer.  There were some leftover mushrooms and there was leftover cheese.  I got some spinach at the salad bar, brushed the pizza crust with garlic and olive oil and then topped it with the spinach, the mushrooms and the cheese.  Delicious and a good use of leftovers!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

