Spicy rub

I made that excellent rub that we enjoyed on the ribeye steak 2 weeks ago.  The rub made a lot so I have a jar full.  I thought it would be good on pork tenderloin and I had a pork tenderloin in the freezer from when they were on sale.  The original recipe for the ribeye had a lime pepper aioli sauce.  I made a version of it but did not blog it because it was time consuming and I didn’t think it was worth the effort (it involved roasting a whole poblano pepper and separately roasting garlic and had a whole bunch of ingredients and it didn’t thicken the way I wanted it too.)  Tonight I decided to make a simplified aioli to go with the pork and was pleased with the results.

Spice rubbed grilled pork tenderloin with lime aioli and roasted cauliflower

  • pork tenderloin
  • spice rub (see below)
  • 1 egg yolk
  • juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 garlic clove minced
  • 1/3 cup olive oil

Rub pork tenderloin with spice rub and let sit for 30 minutes to an hour.  Preheat grill.  Spray pork with Pam or brush with oil and grill 10 – 15 minutes.  (Pork should still be pink inside).  While pork is grilling whisk together egg yolk, lime juice and garlic and very slowly, pour in olive oil whisking the whole time until sauce thickens.  Serve on top of pork.  I added oven roasted cauliflower which I seasoned with olive oil, garlic powder and a little bit of chipotle pepper, tossed with olive oil and roasted at 375 for 25 minutes.  Excellent!

Rub

  • 2 TB whole allspice
  • 2 TB black peppercorns
  • 1 TB cumin seeds
  • 1 cinnamon stick, broken in half
  • 7 whole cloves
  • 2 TB sweet paprika
  • 1 TB chipotle powder
  • 1 TB ancho chile powder
  • 1/4 cup kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup sugar

Toast allspice, peppercorns, cumin, cinnamon and cloves in a nonstick pan over medium heat, tossing frequently.  When fragrant, remove from heat and let cool.  Grind in a spice grinder and place in a bowl.  Add remaining ingredients and whisk together.

Spicy grilled pork with cauliflower

Spicy grilled pork with cauliflower

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

