Southwestern Steak Cobb Salad

I knew that we would have leftovers of the grilled chipotle marinated flank steak from Tuesday.  I remembered that I had made a Southwestern Cobb salad a few months ago that we both liked very much.  It had chicken in it but I thought it would be interesting to substitute the leftover steak.  Things have been a little bit crazy this week – I thought I had black beans but I didn’t, last time I made the salad with Romaine lettuce but since we already had kale, mache and arugula in the fridge I thought it seemed like overkill to buy more lettuce and I still haven’t found any Queso Fresco but it all worked out.  And since Keith cooked bacon, Samantha had poached eggs and bacon for dinner.

Southwestern Steak Cobb Salad

Dressing

  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp dried chipotle pepper
  • 2 TB olive oil
  • 1 tsp honey

Shake all ingredients together in a glass jar with a lid.

Salad

  • dressing (see above)
  • leftover grilled steak, cut in slices
  • lettuce of your choice (romaine, kale, arugula, mache, green leaf or a mix of any of these)
  • 1 avocado, pit removed and sliced
  • 3 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • cheese (preferably Queso Fresco but you can substitute goat cheese or feta)

Mound plates with lettuce and top with dressing.  Line up other ingredients.  Serve.

Southwestern steak Cobb salad

Southwestern steak Cobb salad

This is certainly a concept that you could easily adapt to whatever ingredients you have on hand and/or like!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

