What we ate on our ski trip and what I missed from my kitchen

The reason you didn’t see anything from me last week was that we were in Park City, Utah with our friends on the annual dual family ski trip.  The last few years we have gone over President’s Day Weekend and our destinations have been within driving distance.  Driving meant that we could take a lot of cooked food with us.  If you follow blog, you may recall that we have enjoyed such simple meals as beef tenderloin, seafood potpies, chicken chipotle chili – you know, simple foods.  This year we rented a house in Park City and couldn’t take any food with us.  We were lucky to have several excellent grocery stores close by but had what I would call a minimally equipped kitchen.  (Of course some might argue that my kitchen is at the other end of the spectrum with regard to equipment!)  We were there for 5 nights and I wanted to make things that didn’t require tons of ingredients.  We went out one night and ordered Thai food one night.  Here is what I fixed the other three nights:

Chicken with Pesto and Sundried Tomatoes

  • Boneless, skinless chicken breasts (1 per serving)
  • Pesto (prepared or homemade)
  • Minced sundried tomatoes in a jar (packed in olive oil)
  • Pine nuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350.  Place chicken breasts between 2 sheets of wax paper and pound to about 1/2 inch thickness.  Top each breast with approximately 1 TB of pesto and 2 tsps of sundried tomatoes and then roll up.  Place rolled chicken breasts in a ceramic or glass baking dish and bake 35 – 40 minutes until chicken is cooked through.  I baste them with pan juice about 5 minutes before done (it gives them a nice color.)

I served this with Pine Nut cous cous and a salad.

Chipotle shrimp and black bean quesadilla

  • 3/4 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined and cut in half lengthwise
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1  – 2 tsp pureed chipotle pepper in adobo sauce (if you are making for the first time, start with 1 tsp until you see how much heat you like)
  • 1 clove minced garlic
  • 1/2 can of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 3/4 cup Monterey Jack cheese
  • 4 6″ flour tortillas (or 2 larger ones and then cut the whole thing in half)
  • 1 additional TB of olive oil
  • sour cream (I use reduced fat)
  • salsa
  • 1 avocado, chopped

Heat a skillet over medium heat.  Add olive oil, butter, garlic and pureed chipotle.  Stir to combine for 1 minute.  Add shrimp and cook until just done.  Pour in beans and combine.  Remove from heat to a bowl and stir in cheese so it partially melts.

Divide filling between tortillas.  Top each with another tortilla and brush with olive oil.  Bake at 425 for about 10 minutes until top is golden brown and crispy.  Top with a dollop each of sour cream, salsa and chopped avocado (or guacamole).

Warm mushroom salad

  • 1 package arugula, washed and dried
  • 1 package (8 oz) cremini mushrooms, cleaned, stemmed and chopped
  • 8 oz shiitake mushrooms, cleaned, stemmed and chopped
  • 1 package white mushrooms, cleaned, stemmed and chopped
  • 1 TB olive oil
  • 2 TB sherry vinegar
  • 2 – 3 thin slices Prosciutto per person (I rolled them up to make them more decorative.)
  • 1 oz good Parmesan, shaved

Mound arugula on plates.  Top with rolled prosciutto.

In a heavy saucepan heat 2 tsp olive oil.   Add chopped mushrooms and saute, stirring occasionally for about 10 minutes.  Add sherry vinegar.  Cook about 3 minutes.  Pour mushrooms with oil and vinegar over salad and topped with shavings of Parmesan cheese.

All three dishes were easy to put together and the items that we had leftover were not terribly expensive.  Everyone was happy. (And Samantha ate chicken tenders!)

Cooking in an unfamiliar kitchen is always a challenge.  Here are the things I missed the most:

  •  My nesting glass bowls – I use these all the time for prepping ingredients.
  • Salad spinner – I love salads but I hate wet lettuce.  You can shake wet lettuce dry in a clean kitchen towel but we only had one towel also.
  • Whisk – I made omelets to order one morning and trying to get enough air in the eggs with just a fork (and a deep measuring cup instead of one of the previously mentioned glass bowls) was a challenge
  • Good knives – I understand why owners of a rental property would not want to invest in good knives but that doesn’t mean I don’t miss them.
  • Dogs – I’m used to cooking with my dogs underfoot.  Our Sheltie barks when I get out aluminum foil or plastic wrap (also when anyone sneezes).  Every time I went to grab those I waited for the bark and missed Comet!  Dogs were well cared for and happy to see us when we returned!
About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

