Tilapia tacos

Keith loves my fish tacos.  When he sees fish tacos on a menu, he often orders them.  Unfortunately, he is often disappointed because the fish is usually fried.  Grilling the tilapia on a grill pan keeps this lighter and there are lots of veggies in the tacos.  Tonight I substituted some lettuce from the salad bar for the Napa cabbage I sometimes use.  I only wanted a little and didn’t want a whole head of Napa cabbage.

Fish Tacos

  • Soft taco shells (1 or 2 per person)
  • Tilapia filets (1 per person)
  • Lime juice
  • Olive oil
  • Avocado, chopped
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • Small can of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • Fresh tomato, chopped
  • Salsa
  • Napa cabbage, chopped (or lettuce from the salad bar)

Marinate tilapia filets in 1 TB lime juice and 1/2 tsp olive oil per filet.  I used the grill pan and cooked the fish about 3 minutes a side.  Distribute fish between taco shells and top with black beans, avocado, Napa cabbage (or lettuce) and tomato to taste.  Roll taco shells and top with salsa and sour cream.  (For a little heat, stir some powdered chipotle pepper into the sour cream.)  Enjoy!  Keith had two and I had one – don’t his look pretty!

Tilapia tacos

Tilapia tacos

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

