The reward of planning ahead

I made sauerkraut on Sunday and planned on Turkey Reubens tonight.  It is raining and foggy tonight and it took me two hours to get home from work.  I was so happy that I had an easy to fix, mostly done dinner that we both really enjoy!  Here is what we had:

Turkey Reubens

One of the benefits of cooking sauerkraut for Thanksgiving is that you then have both key ingredients for turkey reubens.  These are simple to make but substantial enough to serve as dinner.  I usually do them open faced.

  • 1 piece of rye bread per person
  • 1 piece of swiss cheese per person
  • Russian dressing
  • sauerkraut
  • turkey

Toast bread.  Spread with Russian dressing, turkey, sauerkraut and swiss cheese and broil in toaster oven until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Turkey Reubens

Turkey Reubens

When we were on our honeymoon in the Turks and Caicos, Keith had a Grouper Reuben.  Don’t be afraid to think outside the box when it comes to the protein in your Reuben!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

