Seafood potpie

Seafood potpie

Seafood potpie

I used to dislike potpie.  Mainly because I’m not a big fan of peas and potpies tends to have peas lurking beneath the crust.  I finally decided that it was time to get over my fear of peas and started making potpies.  I started with chicken and then moved on to lobster.  After making the lobster I decided that it would be even better to mix lobster and shrimp.  The great thing about these is that they freeze really well so I made 4 individual ones – two for us to have tonight and two to put in our cleaned out freezer.  (I actually made these and froze them and took them on our ski trip last year.)  Here is what I did – quantities don’t have to be precise.

Seafood Potpie

  • 3 stalks celery, chopped
  • 3 carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 leeks (white only), chopped
  • 2 TB butter
  • 8 – 10 oz cooked lobster
  • 3/4 pound shrimp (I cleaned and deveined the shrimp and then tossed with olive oil, salt and pepper and roasted for about 8 minutes and then chopped)
  • 1/3 cup frozen peas (you can use more – I’m not a huge fan of peas)
  • 1/3 cup frozen pearl onions
  • 2 more TB butter
  • 2 TB flour
  • 3/4 cup seafood stock
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 3 TB sherry
  • 1 tsp thyme

Pastry

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 stick butter, diced
  • 1/4 cup ice water
  • 1 egg beaten with 1 TB water

Saute celery, carrots, onion and leek until veggies are tender (about 8 – 10 minutes) and set aside.  Combine with lobster, shrimp, peas and frozen onions in a ceramic baking dish or smaller single serving bowls.

I used the same saute pan to make a cream sauce.  Start by combining flour and butter, then slowly stir in milk and stock, stirring so sauce is smooth.  Add sherry and stir.  Sauce should be thick and smooth.  Add thyme and pour over lobster and veggies.

Combine flour with salt and baking powder in a food processor.  Pulse in butter about 15 pulses.  Add water with the motor running until dough is just combined.  Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.  Roll dough onto a floured work surface and trim to just bigger than your dish.  Brush edges of baking container with egg wash and cover dishes with pastry pressing against the edges.  Make 3 slashes in the pastry and bake at 375 for 1 hour and 15 minutes.  NOTE: My chicken potpie crust got too done on top so we’re going to cover the tops for part of the cooking time so they don’t burn.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

