Birthday dinner

Keith requested Thai for his birthday dinner and specifically Panang curry.  I made curry powder from scratch with cumin, coriander and peppercorns toasted and mashed in the mortar and pestle.  Chopped lemongrass and garlic were added to the paste along with ground peanuts.  I combined my mixture with some canned Mae Sri Panang curry paste (I can’t get mine as smooth as theirs but the combination of my homemade and their smooth beautiful red paste creates a wonderful taste.  You can buy Mae Sri curry paste and doctor it up a bit with spices or just use with coconut milk.  There is leftover curry paste so maybe I’ll combine it with a different protein next week.

Shrimp Thai curry

  • 1 can coconut milk (don’t shake it, you want the cream to be on top)
  • 1/2 can Mae Sri panang curry paste (keep the rest in the fridge)
  • 1 TB brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp fish sauce
  • 2/3 pound shrimp, deveined and peeled (substitute chicken if you prefer)

Scoop the cream from the top half of the coconut milk and add to a saute pan over medium heat.  Cook stirring until the mixture bubbles.  Add curry paste and stir until well blended.  Add shrimp and stir to coat.  Cook about 4 – 5 minutes until shrimp are done.   Stir in brown sugar and fish sauce and combine well.  Serve over rice.  I topped with minced Kaffir lime leaves from my lime tree which is doing well wintering in our dining room.  I bought cupcakes from Graul’s as a special treat.  Here is the birthday boy getting ready to enjoy his cupcake with a little help!

Happy Birthday!

Happy Birthday!

 

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

