Chicken – old and new

I made dinner to take to a friend the other night.  It is a recipe I’ve had for almost 30 years – I got it from a coworker back in the late 80s.  It was apparently a big hit with the family and Keith commented that he doesn’t think I’ve ever made it for him.  Here is the recipe:

Chicken Scampi

  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast per person cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 1/2 cup of Italian bread crumbs
  • 1 stick butter
  • 4 cloves minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1 TB parsley flakes

Dredge chicken cubes in bread crumbs and place in a baking dish.  Melt butter, garlic and white wine.  Stir in parsley flakes and pour mixture over chicken.  Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

When I bought the chicken breasts, I bought more than I needed so I had leftover chicken.  I was thinking about what to have for dinner tonight and I wanted to use them.  I remembered that I had leftover arugula and Smithfield ham from Christmas.  I thought the peppery arugula and salty Smithfield ham would go well together but needed a little something more.  I used Fontina cheese.  The result was delicious!  If you follow blog, you know that I have stuffed chicken breasts with all sorts of things.  It is an easy and attractive dish and there are so many variations.  Here is tonight’s:

Chicken stuffed with flavor

  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast per person (pound flat between two sheets of wax paper using a meat pounder)
  • arugula
  • 1 -2 small pieces of Smithfield ham per breast
  • 2 thin slices of Fontina cheese per breast
  • 1 TB olive oil

Preheat oven to 350.  Place chicken flat on a work surface and cover with arugula.  Top with ham and cheese and roll up tightly.  Place in a ceramic baking dish close together (this keeps them from unrolling).  Bake 40 -45 minutes until chicken is done.  Serve with cous cous.  Here is a picture of it sliced:

A new stuffing for chicken!

A new stuffing for chicken!

 

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

