A big salad

Friday was my birthday.  We went out to dinner and I had fabulous soft shell crabs in a lemon butter sauce and a profiterole with hot fudge sauce for dessert.  Saturday we went out to dinner and I had a small portion of pasta with mushroom sauce as my appetizer and tuna as my entree and a chocolate almond cake for dessert.  Last night we ordered carryout Thai food and had drunken noodles, crab fried rice, panang curry with shrimp and an incredible duck dish (we did share with Christie and there were leftovers).  I was ready for detox.  Do you remember Seinfeld and Elaine needing a big salad?  That was what I needed tonight and this one is one of my husband’s favorites.

Southwestern shrimp taco salad

  • juice from 3 limes
  • 2 TB olive oil
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp pureed chipotle pepper in adobo sauce (keep the rest in the fridge for chipotle mayo and marinades)
  • 1 1/2 tsp honey (original recipe called for maple syrup but I thought honey would be better)
  • 3/4 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 1 head romaine lettuce, washed and torn into smallpieces
  • 1 /2 cup corn, blanched
  • 1/2 can of black beans rinsed and drained
  • 3 plum tomatoes chopped
  • 1 avocado, chopped
  • 1 oz lime flavored tortilla chips  (original recipe called for blue corn chips but we love the lime and I thought it would go well with lime dressing)
  • 2 TB light sour cream

Whisk together lime juice, olive oil, cumin, garlic, chipotle pepper and honey.  Toss shrimp with about 1/2 of the mixture and roast at 425 for about 10 minutes until pink (original recipe called for grilling but I love the flavor of roasted shrimp).  Cover plates with romaine and some lime chips.  Combine corn, beans, tomatoes and avocado in a bowl and toss with remaining dressing.  Divide mixture between plates and top with shrimp and a dollop of sour cream.  Serve.

Southwestern shrimp taco salad

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

