Something old and something new

Tonight we had crab cake casserole and salad with my homemade Ranch dressing.  The crab cake casserole is easy, crab meat is on sale at Graul’s and I’m battling a nasty cold so I didn’t want something too involved.  (I had leftover Ranch dressing in the fridge).  Since I have blogged both of these recipes before, you can use the Search to find either one.  I thought instead I would tell you what I fixed on Friday night.  Our young friend Jack Flynn spent some time in Alaska this summer and one of his many adventures was fishing for halibut.  He brought some home flash frozen and we were lucky enough to get some.  Here is what I did with it:

Grilled halibut with tomato vinaigrette

  • halibut (we had about a pound)
  • 4 cloves of garlic, sliced
  • 1 1/2 TB balsamic vinegar
  • approximately 4 TB olive oil
  • 2 tomatoes, cored, peeled, seeded and diced (to peel them, drop them in boiling water for about 2 minutes and then remove – skins will come off easily)
  • 1 TB fresh herbs minced (your choice – I used basil and chives from our garden)

Brush the halibut generously with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  Grill about 8 – 10 minutes per inch and then cover with aluminum foil for a few minutes.  (Halibut is a dense fish and not one that we like rare.)

Mix garlic and vinegar together in a bowl.  Add salt and pepper and stir.  Slowly whisk in olive oil and whisk until the sauce is emulsified.  Add tomatoes and herbs and stir.

Serve the fish with the sauce and sides of your choice.  We had leftover rice and I cooked some spinach.

Just for the halibut!  :)

Just for the halibut! 🙂

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

