Mourning the end of summer!

I decided that I need to have soft shell crabs one more time as part of my therapy for summer ending.  I hate the end of long days, swimming pools, golf, etc. and although I enjoy fall, I’m just not feeling quite ready.  I saw that they had some nice looking soft shell crabs and decided to make soft crab sandwiches.  I looked in several of my restaurant cookbooks and discovered that many of them had recipes for soft shell sandwiches.  I combined elements of several.  Here is what I did:

Soft shell crab sandwiches

  • 1 – 2 soft shell crabs per person, cleaned
  • 1/3 cup each of flour, corn meal and panko, mixed together with paprika, salt and pepper
  • 1 egg beaten with 1 tsp water
  • 1 – 2 TB canola oil
  • good bread (I used Semolina Batard)
  • lettuce (I used Bibb)
  • sliced tomato (tomato from our garden!)
  • tartar sauce (see below)

Heat a non-stick pan over medium heat.  Add canola oil.  Dip each crab in egg and then flour mixture.  Put in hot oil, shell side down.  Cover pan with a lid (the worst burn I have ever had from cooking came from a spatter of meat from a cooking soft crab – I still have the scar).  Cook 4 – 5 minutes and then flip and cook another 4  – 5 minutes on the other side.  Meanwhile, lightly toast bread.  Spread bread with tartar sauce, lettuce and tomato and then top with the hot crab(s).  Serve with plenty of napkins!

Tartar sauce

Yes this is worth the trouble.

  • 1 cup good quality mayonnaise (I bought Graul’s homemade but Hellman’s and Duke’s are both good)
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 1 – 2 TB parsley, minced
  • 5 – 6 cornichons, finely chopped
  • 1 – 2 TB capers, drained and finely chopped
  • juice of 1/2 lemon

Mix all ingredients together and taste for seasoning.  Make at least an hour ahead so flavors can meld.  (Also delicious for dipping french fries into if you are feeling decadent – we were!)

Mourning summer's end!

Mourning summer’s end!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

