Planning ahead

I have a longer day on Tuesdays and Thursdays so I try to set myself up for success by planning ahead for something that requires minimal effort when I get home tired from a long day at work.  This Thai grilled chicken is just the thing.  I made the marinade last night and all we needed to do was fix rice and grill it.  If you think Thai food is complicated or too spice, try this recipe anyway.  The flavors are actually quite mild and the coconut milk makes the chicken really moist.

Thai marinade

  • 4 – 6 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 1 TB cumin seed
  • 2 TB coriander seed
  • 1 TB peppercorns
  • 2/3 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar and/or honey (or 1/4 cup of each – that is what I did)
  • 1 TB turmeric powder
  • 1 lime
  • 1 tsp ground Thai chili peppers
  • 1 cup coconut cream
Toast the cumin seed, coriander and peppercorns in a dry pan over the stove for a few minutes until aromatic.  Grind together in a mortar and pestle.  Add garlic and continue grinding until ingredients make a paste.  Put paste in a bowl and add brown sugar, soy sauce, juice from lime, ground chili pepper, turmeric and coconut cream.  Mix well.  Marinate chicken up to overnight overnight and grill, basting with marinade.  Serve with rice.
About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

