Leftovers are the mother of invention

When I made the ranch dressing grilled chicken the other night, I cooked one extra chicken breast.  Samantha didn’t finish hers so I had more than 1 serving and less than 2.  I decided it would make interesting chicken salad.  Here is what I did:

Ranch dressing chicken salad

  • leftover Ranch dressing grilled chicken
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 3 -4 TB mayonnaise

Combine all ingredients.  Keith loved it and we both enjoyed it for lunch today and the chicken wasn’t wasted.  Note to self – plan on extras next time!

This has been the first week back to school.  Tonight is the first night of soccer practice.  Therefore, I needed a break.  I found this pasta fresh at Graul’s and thought it looked good.  We’ll enjoy it with Graul’s Marinara sauce and all I have to do is boil water and heat sauce.  And Samantha can have pasta too (not exotic mushroom ravioli)

A break for the cook!

A break for the cook!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

