Panzanella with shrimp

I clip recipes from magazines and keep them in folders by category (salad, appetizer, seafood, etc.)  When I’m seeking inspiration I’ll start looking through my folders for new ideas.  I found a recipe for a Panzanella salad with shrimp.  Before I fixed it, I looked up recipes for Panzanella in a few of my cookbooks and then combined what I thought were the best features of all of them.  This is a great recipe for this time of year when the tomatoes are so wonderful – I would not try making it in the winter.  I had debated whether to add shrimp or not.  I asked Keith and he looked at me like I was crazy and said “It’s certainly going to be better with shrimp.”  He was right but you could still have an excellent dish without it.

Panzanella with shrimp

  • French bread or other rustic bread (I used an end of a Semolina Batard and an end of an Olive Batard) cubed
  • olive oil
  • 2/3 pound shrimp, shelled and deveined
  • 2 – 3 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 cucumber, seeded and chopped
  • 1 red pepper, chopped,
  • 1 slice red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp capers
  • 2 TB red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 6 -7 TB good olive oil

In a saute pan, heat about 1 TB olive oil over medium heat.  Toss bread cubes in olive oil and heat 5 – 10 minutes turning regularly until bread is crisp and slightly browned.  Set aside.

Toss shrimp with kosher salt, pepper and a small amount of olive oil.  Roast at 425 for about 8 minutes until shrimp are pink.  Set aside.

In a large bowl, combine tomatoes, cucumber, red pepper, red onion and capers.  Season with salt and pepper.  Combine red wine vinegar, oregano and Dijon mustard.  Whisk together and gradually whisk in olive oil.  Pour over vegetable mixture.  Add shrimp and bread cubes.  Toss well to combine.  Yumm!

Another delicious entree salad!

Another delicious entree salad!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

