Pasta night

Tonight I had planned the fresh tomato sauce on pasta.  The tomatoes are so good right now and Graul’s has had some beautiful heirloom tomatoes.  It’s very simple, you chop the tomatoes in a bowl with olive oil, chopped basil, fresh mozzarella and then add the cooked pasta.  I love it in summer but it isn’t really Keith’s favorite.  Unfortunately tonight’s dinner was unexpectedly challenged by the fact that when we got ready for dinner, Samantha didn’t come when we called her back from playing with the neighbor boys.  We rang our bell – no response.  I went to the neighbor’s, she wasn’t there.  They suggested she might be down the street.  I was starting to get very worried.  Turns out that our “helpful” child had gone with the other neighbors and their babysitter to look for their missing dog.  While I respect the community spirit and desire to help the dog, I was not amused as it is a blatant rule violation.  Dinner was cold, Samantha is grounded for the weekend and we probably won’t have this dish again this summer.  😦

Pasta with fresh tomato sauce

Pasta with fresh tomato sauce

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

One Response to Pasta night

  1. Missy says:

    Vicky – lovely dish, visually stunning, and I bet it was delicious, hot or cold! Sweetened by the eventual location of the *helpful* child. It is hard to argue with finding a doggie, but panic making in parents is not a good thing… Glad all are safe. (hope that includes the canine!)

Leave a Reply

