Salad days

I’m always looking for new ideas for entree salads.  I had found a recipe in Food and Wine that sounded intriguing but of course, I couldn’t make it exactly as they had it.  That is one of the fun things about salads – they are so easily adaptable to what you have on hand and what you like.  The recipe was for a grilled corn and chicken salad.  I had leftover grilled chicken from the other night and here is what I did for the balance:

Grilled chicken and corn salad

Dressing

  • juice of 1 lime
  • approximately 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 jalapeño minced

Whisk together.  Taste and adjust ingredients as necessary.

Salad

  • 2 scallions, finely chopped
  • 2 ears of corn, boiled in water and then corn cut off cob (you could also grill)
  • 1 orange bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 3 tomatoes (I used three different heirloom tomatoes), chopped
  • 1 small bunch basil, finely chopped
  • grilled chicken breasts, diced

Combine scallions, corn, pepper, tomatoes and basil in a bowl.  Toss with about 1/2 of dressing.  Distribute between plates and top with chicken.  Serve with additional dressing for adding as desired.  Doesn’t it look pretty!

Salad days!

Salad days!

 

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

