Healthy company dinner

We had a good friend over for dinner last night.  She just put a contract in on a new house so we had much to celebrate.  I wanted to make her a nice meal without derailing the progress Keith and I have been making with eating healthy.  Leaning on seafood helps.  I got  a beautiful tuna steak, dipped it in sesame and poppy seeds and quickly seared it in a nonstick pan with a little canola oil.  I then chilled it in the fridge and right before she arrived I sliced it thinly and topped it with a little wasabi sauce for our appetizer.

I made a carrot soup for our first course.  6 cups of chopped carrots cooked in a small amount of butter with a chopped onion, 3 chopped celery stalks, chopped ginger and garlic.  After they were soft I added chicken stock and simmered them for another 15 minutes until very soft.  I then pureed the mixture and put it through a coarse strainer and returned it to a clean pan with 1 Tb honey and 4 TB half and half.  It was a beautiful color and pretty healthy.

For dinner’s inspiration I turned to my cookbook collection.  Keith suggested scallops and after confirming that our guest loves scallops too I found a recipe for a scallop and shrimp salad.  The recipe was in the cookbook from Le Bec Fin, a famed Philadelphia restaurant.  I picked the cookbook up at a used book sale.  There were a lot of steps and I felt like I used half of our kitchen equipment but look at the finished product.  The beautiful magenta sauce is a roasted beet vinaigrette.

Healthy company dinner

Healthy company dinner

We finished with an angel food cake purchased from Graul’s bakery and some fresh raspberries.  Who says eating healthy can’t be delicious?

 

 

 

 

 

 

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

