Something old and something new

Tonight we had the shrimp and sausage pizzas.  It is one of Keith’s favorites and I have blogged it many times before.  Rather than repeating it (you can search blog if you haven’t seen it before), I’ll share my new find.  Last week I made cauliflower soup and we have been enjoying it ever since (we had it with quiche last night).  I remember my parents having cauliflower when I was a kid and I thought it was gross and smelled awful.  I have become a convert and love it roasted.  I saw a recipe for cauliflower soup and thought with a few tweaks, we would enjoy it.  Here is what I did:

Cauliflower soup

  • 4 TB butter
  • 4 leeks, well cleaned and white and light green parts chopped
  • 2 heads cauliflower, trimmed to florets (I used one white and one purple which made the soup a pretty color)
  • 8 cups chicken stock (preferably homemade)
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 cup creme fraiche
  • Smithfield or country ham, thinly sliced

Melt butter in a heavy pot and saute leeks stirring until soft (about 5 minutes).  Add cauliflower, chicken stock and pepper.   Bring to a boil, stirring and then lower heat and cover pot and simmer for about 20 minutes.  Vegetables should be tender.

Puree in batches in a blender or food processor and then return to pan.   Stir in 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese and creme fraiche.

When ready to serve, put a few pieces of ham and a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese in each soup bowl and ladle hot soup over top.

Delicious!  NOTE: Since you are adding ham and Parmesan cheese, this does not need salt.  If you wanted to leave off ham you should test soup for seasoning and salt as desired.

We had this one night last week with open-faced steak sandwiches to use up the last of the steak from having dinner with Keith’s dad and then on Sunday afternoon I made my classic herb quiche and we had soup and quiche last night.  There is a little bit left and we’ll enjoy that and add to my list of things to make again!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

