Adapting

Last night we had the warm mushroom arugula salad.  It had been on the menu plan for the previous week and then I bought the oysters to have with the Smithfield ham and things got shifted around and I still had the ingredients.  So I made it last night.  Here is how I usually make it:

Warm mushroom salad

  • 1 package arugula, washed and dried
  • 1 package (8 oz) cremini mushrooms, cleaned, stemmed and chopped
  • 8 oz shiitake mushrooms, cleaned, stemmed and chopped
  • 1 package white mushrooms, cleaned, stemmed and chopped
  • 1 TB olive oil
  • 2 TB sherry vinegar
  • 2 – 3 thin slices Prosciutto per person (I rolled them up to make them more decorative.)
  • 1 oz good Parmesan, shaved

Mound arugula on plates.  Top with rolled prosciutto.

In a heavy saucepan heat 2 tsp olive oil.   Add chopped mushrooms and saute, stirring occasionally for about 10 minutes.  Add sherry vinegar.  Cook about 3 minutes.  Pour mushrooms with oil and vinegar over salad and topped with shavings of Parmesan cheese.

When I got the arugula out of the fridge it smelled a little funny.  It was 1 day past its use by date and I just thought it was going to be a little bit funky.  Keith had bought extra mache for Friday night’s salad so I swapped the arugula out and the mache in.  We had a few leftover Parmesan crackers from holiday entertaining – I switched them for the Parmesan cheese.  And we had a little bit of potato gratin leftover from Friday night so we each had a little dollop of that on the side.  It was excellent.  Just goes to show that you can start with a plan and easily incorporate what you happen to have on hand.

Variation on warm mushroom arugula salad

Variation on warm mushroom arugula salad

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

