Adapting continued

I just updated my post for last night about adapting the warm mushroom salad.  I made a few adjustments to tonight’s meal as well.  I had leftover tenderloin from entertaining Keith’s sister and her family on Friday.  I love to make saucy sirloin when it is cold and it is bitter here tonight.  Here is how I usually make saucy sirloin:

Saucy Sirloin

  • Tenderloin tips or cubed beef, about 1/2 pound
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp dry mustard
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 4 scallions, thinly sliced
  • 1 can whole mushrooms, drained
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/3 cup red wine
  • 1 can consomme

Combine flour and dry mustard and toss beef cubes until coated.  Over medium heat, swirl in olive oil and butter and brown beef until just done.  Add garlic and scallions and stir for 30 seconds.  Add mushrooms and Worcestershire sauce and cook stirring for 2 -3 minutes.  Add wine and scrape brown bits from pan, stirring into sauce.  Add consomme and simmer until ready to serve over rice.

The difference tonight was that the beef was already cooked.  I wanted the thickening that comes from the flour and mustard but didn’t need to brown the beef.  I started with the olive oil and butter and then added the garlic, scallions, mushrooms and Worcestershire sauce.  Then I added about 1 TB of flour and 1/2 tsp of dry mustard to thicken.  I followed that with the wine and consomme and then added the cooked beef.  It was delicious over rice and quite the thing to thaw us out!  Great cold weather recipe!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

