Happy New Year!

The holiday schedule has me completely confused.  I was off of work all week last week and then worked this Monday, was off yesterday and today and go to work tomorrow.  So today feels like Sunday.  When I made the menu plan for the week I wasn’t thinking about this as a holiday so had planned Caesar salad with flank steak.  That seemed a little mundane for New Year’s Day so while I was at the grocery store the other day, I grabbed a pint of oysters.  They are fabulous with leftover Smithfield ham.  Here is how I fixed them:

Oysters and ham

  • 1 pint of oysters, drain and reserve the oyster liquor and rinse oysters checking for shells
  • 2 pieces of toast
  • unsalted butter
  • 2 slices Smithfield ham

In a saucepan, melt about 1 TB butter and add about 1 TB of oyster liquor.  Cook oysters in liquid until the edges start to curl.  Lightly butter each piece of toast and top with ham and oysters.

Ham and oysters

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

One Response to Happy New Year!

  1. Claire Inayatullah says:

    Both meals sound great though I’d dump some sherry on the oysters. I made a very rich rack of land for Xmas and hubby asked for repeat today plus asparagus w bear aisle and now he is wondering if nocturnal heartburn from rich food will trash how he feels tomorrow morning at work. It was nice to have a quiet day to putter and nap and just onset life and digest spicy chili to go w last nights fireworks on the tube. Oystes on toast would have been perfect tonight. You had a great idea. I think we will do that in four days. I does feel like Sunday and we get two Sundays this week in terms of ambiance at least Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

