Oyster stew

One of the things that I find useful about blog is that I can go back and read recipes and find what I said did or did not work.  I wanted to make oyster stew tonight and remembered that we had made it last winter.  When I looked up the recipe on blog, my comments told me what to tweak.  I was very happy with the result!  Last year I had pureed the base and decided it wasn’t worth the effort.  I wanted the oysters good and hot and the soup needed a bit more flavor.  Here is what I did tonight.

Oyster Stew

  • 1 small onion, minced
  • 2 stalks celery, minced
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 3 TB butter
  • 3 TB flour
  • 1 cup half and half
  • 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/2 tsp Old Bay
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 pint oysters

Saute onion, celery and shallot in butter until soft (about 3 -4 minutes).  Stir in flour and then gradually stir in half and half and milk to make a cream sauce.  Add Old Bay and salt and pepper to taste.  (NOTE: Can be made ahead to this point with oysters added when ready to serve.)

When ready to serve, heat and then add oysters with oyster liquor.  Cook for a few minutes until oysters start to curl.  Serve.

NOTE: I like to strain the oyster liquor off of the oysters and wash the oysters.  I found two large bits of shell tonight.  If you dump the oysters and liquor into the soup without that step, someone could get a big chunk of shell.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

