Comfort food on a snowy day

It has been snowing here for most of the day – it may have turned to freezing rain now.  Perfect weather for roasting a chicken!  I made the oven roasted brussels sprouts recently, I’m making the pan variation tonight.  And we can look forward to homemade chicken stock to use in the tomato soup later in the week and chicken sandwiches to have with it.  Here is how I cook my chicken:

Roast Chicken

  • 1 Roasting chicken
  • 2 tsp poultry seasoning
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp white pepper
  • 4 TB butter

Remove giblets from chicken and reserve for stock.  Wash chicken thoroughly inside and out and dry.  Rub poultry seasoning, salt and pepper into cavity.  Dot with butter.  Preheat oven to 375.  Cook f0r 30 minutes.  Baste chicken and reduce heat to 350.  Continue cooking until chicken is done (I have to confess that I usually just wait until the little plastic thermometer pops out) about 20 minutes per pound.

Sauteed brussels sprouts

So now that I’ve been converted on brussels sprouts, I tried a different variation.  We are torn on which one is better.

  • 3/4 lb brussels sprouts, rinsed, trimmed and halved
  • 1 TB olive oil
  • 1 oz pancetta, diced
  • 3/4 cup chicken stock

In a heavy pan, heat olive oil over medium heat.  Saute pancetta until crisp and remove to a paper towel.  Add brussels sprouts to pan and saute about 5 minutes until browned.  Add chicken stock and simmer about 15 minutes until tender.  Put pancetta back in pan and serve.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

