Rockfish

In keeping with my theme of seasonal eating, I have been craving rockfish.  I always used to cook it in the pan but last year I stumbled onto roasting it in the oven.  I think it is easier to get it cooked through and it is definitely not as messy.  I’m thinking that I’m going to adapt the olive, lemon, paprika recipe for oven roasting.  Tonight I went with this tried and true combination.   They didn’t have any purple cauliflower so I used orange (maybe the purple isn’t around because the Ravens are struggling.)

Rockfish with cauliflower and hazelnuts

  • 1 head cauliflower, cut into florets
  • 1 rockfish filet per person
  • 2 TB olive oil
  • kosher salt and pepper
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 2 TB hazelnuts

Preheat oven to 400.  Toss cauliflower with 1 TB of olive oil and salt and pepper.  Cook in a ceramic baking dish for 15 minutes.  Toss, add 1 TB hazelnuts and cook for another 15 minutes.

Wash and dry rockfish.  Season with salt and pepper and brush with remaining olive oil and lemon juice.  Line a ceramic baking dish with aluminum foil.  Place fish on foil and place in same oven.  Bake for 15 minutes, top with remaining hazelnuts and cook another 5 minutes.

Rockfish with hazelnuts and cauliflower

Rockfish with hazelnuts and cauliflower

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

