Worrying about my next meal

One of the things that is probably obvious if you follow blog is that I’m almost always thinking about my next meal (and often the one after that!)  Tonight was another Thai cooking class with Ang.  I never know what we’re going to make or how much there will be.  Since Christy is away, Keith got to go with me tonight (Kevin got to go last week while we were away.)  I know Keith likes that I’m always thinking about his next meal too.  I wanted something that would tide us over but not be too heavy.  I had the shrimp tacos on the menu plan but decided at the last minute to skip the tortillas and convert it to a shrimp salad.  (I did a similar thing a few Friday nights ago when we played in a paddle mixer and I wasn’t sure what/how much food would be available – I made the chipotle shrimp salad figuring we could always save it for lunch the next day.)

Here is what I did tonight:

Lime shrimp salad

  • 2/3 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • zest and juice of 1 lime
  • 2 – 3 TB sour cream
  • 2 – 3 TB mayonnaise
  • Napa cabbage chopped and rinsed
  • Romaine lettuce chopped and rinsed
  • 1 avocado sliced

Toss shrimp with olive oil, salt and pepper and a splash of lime juice.  Roast at 400 for about 8 – 9 minutes or until shrimp are pink.  Set aside.

Whisk together lime zest, lime juice, sour cream and mayonnaise.  Toss over cabbage and lettuce and toss well to combine.

Put a serving of the dressed lettuce on each plate.  Top with shrimp and avocado.  Enjoy!

That left enough room for us to try the Drunken noodles and the Panang curry.  Yum!

Light dinner

Light dinner

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

