My absence

Hello blog buddies!  Sorry that I have been absent for a few days.  We took Samantha to Disney World.  It was an amazing experience, beginning with the fact that she had no idea we were going.  Our flight was at 1:30 on Thursday.  I told her that I needed to pick her up early from school for an appointment to have the eye doctor recheck her glasses.  She didn’t want to go to the eye doctor so I told her that as a special treat we would go out to lunch and she would not have to go back to school.  I picked her up and brought her back to the house to change.  When we got to the house she expressed surprise that Dad’s car was here and I said that he must have forgotten about meeting us for lunch.  She walked in the front door and saw the suitcases and asked “What is all this?” and I told her that Daddy and I had a surprise for her and we were going to Disney World.  She was shocked and stunned – no screaming (thankfully).  We changed her into play clothes and headed to the airport.

Disney was amazing.  It is huge and overwhelming and I wish one of us had been wearing a pedometer to count the number of steps we took over the last few days.  We did the Magic Kingdom on Friday, the Animal Kingdom on Saturday, 11 hours at Epcot on Sunday and a quick recap of a few favorite rides in the Magic Kingdom this morning before heading home.  Food was interesting – we were on the Disney dining plan which includes set numbers of meals at different levels.  We covered the gamut during our stay.  Highlights were the breakfast with the princesses – both from the standpoint of Samantha’s expression as she got her picture taken and autographs from Cinderella, Snow White, Aurora (aka Sleeping Beauty), Ariel and Jasmine and from the standpoint of a great breakfast – Keith had steak and eggs and I had a wonderful baked quiche with goat cheese, arugula and mushrooms that I will work on recreating, our steakhouse dinner where Samantha decided that she likes Filet Mignon (expensive but broadens our restaurant choices significantly) and our dinner at the Polynesian which inspired Keith to suggest that I need to learn Hawaiian cooking to my repertoire.  Wished that we had known ahead of time about the food festival going on at Epcot – you could literally eat your way around the world.  Good to note for a potential future return trip (won’t be next year as our 7 year old suggested).

Abbreviated menu plan for the week will be posted tomorrow – hope nobody went hungry in my absence!  Trip was great but it is good to be home.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

