Greek salad

Today was Samantha’s birthday party (more on that in an upcoming post.)  I did a lot of cooking for her party and tonight I was wiped out.  (Also the reason you are seeing this so much later than normal.)  Keith suggested that we go out to dinner but I also knew that Samantha was wiped out and it might be better to stay in.  I went with Greek salad with roasted shrimp as something easy and healthy.  Here is the recipe:

Greek salad (for 2)

  • 4 TB olive oil
  • 1 1/2 TB red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 TB lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • salt and freshly ground pepper

Whisk ingredients together in a bowl

  • 2/3 lbs shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • lettuce greens (I used a mixture of green leaf and mache – Romaine is also good)
  • 3 tomatoes, chopped
  • 1/2 cucumber, sliced
  • 1/2 red onion, sliced thin
  • 4 oz good quality feta cheese cubed
  • olives (optional – I omitted the olives because my husband isn’t a big fan)

Toss shrimp with olive oil, salt and pepper and roast at 400 for 8 – 10 minutes.  Let cool to room temperature.  Combine cucumbers and red onion with vinaigrette in a bowl for at least 20 minutes.  When ready to serve, combine lettuce with cucumbers and onions (including the dressing), add tomatoes, feta, olives (if using) and cooked shrimp.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

