Easy entertaining for summer

We’re having a friend over for dinner this evening.  I was chatting with another friend at the pool who asked what I was cooking for company that made it possible to spend the afternoon lollygagging around the pool.  (She didn’t actually accuse me of lollygagging.)  I wanted to have something good and simple that would allow me to visit with my friend rather than fussing in the kitchen.  We bought crab dip at Graul’s so the appetizer was fixed by somebody else.  I bought sorbet and raspberries for dessert so that will be light and effortless.  Here is the menu for dinner:

Grilled lamb chops (marinated in Worcestershire sauce)

Mache salad with vinaigrette, crumbled blue cheese and walnuts

Rosemary polenta – I made this last night and refrigerated so all I need to do is saute the triangles when it is time to serve.

Polenta

  • 1/2 stick of butter
  • 1/8 cup olive oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped fine
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup half and half
  • 1 cups cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • additional olive oil and butter (for sauteing)

Melt butter with olive oil over medium heat and add garlic and spices.  Pour in stock, milk and half and half and cook over high heat until boiling.  Remove from heat and gradually stir in cornmeal.  Cook for a few more minutes, stirring until thick.  Add parmesan cheese and pour mixture into a 9 x 9 pan.  Refrigerate.

When ready to serve, cut polenta into squares and then in half diagonally to make triangles.  (Or cut into circles with a biscuit cutter).  Dip in flour.  Melt 1 TB olive oil and 1 tsp butter and cook over medium heat until edges are crispy and polenta is hot.  Serve.

We’re serving a pinot noir with dinner and I’m looking forward to a relaxing evening.  Cheers!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

