Dinner for one

My husband had a dinner meeting tonight so I decided to make myself a little tuna nicoise.  (I teased him that if the roles were reversed, I was sure he would be doing the same thing – he would not have.)  Usually I have some roasted potatoes but I wasn’t going to bother roasting potatoes for a salad for just me.  I did buy a handful of green beans from the produce stand yesterday and blanched them, I hardboiled a few eggs so I would have an egg for my salad and I used a whole tomato because I had one.  Keith doesn’t really like olives but I do so I got a few from the olive bar at Graul’s yesterday to add.  That’s the beauty of dinner for one – you can have just what you want.

Tuna Salad Nicoise for one

  • 1 minced shallot
  • 3 – 4 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp Sherry vinegar
  • salad greens
  • fresh tuna steak (4 – 6 oz per person)
  • hard boiled egg, sliced
  • blanched green beans
  • 1 tomato, sliced
  • a few black olives
  • anchovies (optional)
In a small jar, combine shallot, olive oil and vinegar.  Shake to combine.  Wash and dry salad greens (I used Mache)  Brush tuna with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  Sear in a non-stick pan until desired doneness (I like mine rare so will only quick sear on each side.)  Toss salad greens with dressing and plate.  Top lettuce with tuna, sliced egg, green beans, black olives and tomatoes (and anchovies if you like or whatever else you happen to  have on hand).  Enjoy.
Dinner for one!

Dinner for one!

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

One Response to Dinner for one

  1. Celia says:

    Beautiful

Leave a Reply

