1,000 posts

Today I hit a big milestone on blog.  I have now reached 1,000 posts.  I felt like a bell should ring or I should get a big check or something but it’s still me sitting at the computer.  No special effects.

When I tell people about my blog I always tell them the same thing.  As a busy working wife and mother who really enjoys food, I have been following the discipline of planning my meals for years.  Most of my friends know that every Sunday I sit down and look at our calendars and think of things to eat.  I hate to get in a rut of having the same thing every week so I frequently pull out cookbooks, magazines and my collection of clippings for inspiration and new ideas.  I have notepads that I like to use for this and I have two out side by side.  One notepad gets the menu plan, the other gets the grocery list.  I then add any staples we need to the list and go to the store.  The menu plan is on the refrigerator door, held in place by a magnet.

Sometimes visitors to our house tease me about it.  Over the years friends and coworkers have asked “So what is for dinner tonight?” and sometimes been surprised that I always know.  Often people say “What if you change your mind and don’t feel like having that?”  Every now and then some scheduling change results in me switching the nights around but I generally stick to the plan.   Sometimes friends would say “Since you are doing it anyway, can’t you just email it to me?”  I started blog as a way of sharing with anyone who wanted to follow along.

Since I started blogging, I have gained followers who are family, longtime friends, new friends and complete strangers.  Many of you have commented on particular things you liked and I have been grateful for the positive feedback that I’ve received.  I know that some of you have followed along and done a whole week or weeks with me, some of you print out the recipes you see that you like and turn to them when you need a new idea, some of you use the search when you want a new idea and some of you don’t even like to cook but just read along.  I’m happy to have all of you reading what I put together for whatever purpose you like.

When I tell someone about my blog and they ask for the address, I always say “Please share with anyone you think might enjoy it – the more the merrier”.  Today as I celebrate my milestone, I ask that if you enjoy it, you share with another friend, co-worker or family member.  That way when I get to 2,000 posts hopefully we’ll be an even bigger group.

Have a wonderful day and I’ll update tonight with the new skillet corn we’re making tonight!

Vicky

Blogging at emenuplan.wordpress.com

 

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

3 Responses to 1,000 posts

  1. I’m ringing the bell Vicky..well done and keep up the awesome work! 🙂

  2. Peter Klein says:

    Congrats on the milestone – well-deserved!!!!!

  3. Celia says:

    Kudos and Congratulations Vicky!! You certainly deserve it. It has been loads of fun to share in this blog with you. I look forward to many more yummy dinners

Leave a Reply

