A confession

The Thai cooking class that Christie and I just finished is going on a field trip to a Thai restaurant tonight.  We are going with our instructor and spouses are invited.  We are really looking forward to it as our instructor knows the chef at the restaurant so I believe we get a tour and a cooking demonstration.  So I confess that this is not what we are eating tonight, but I didn’t want to leave you in the lurch.  This is one of my favorites and is great with steamed broccoli.  Also good with cous cous although the broccoli will provide a better color contrast.  Enjoy and I’ll look forward to updating you on our field trip adventure!

Salmon Dijon

  • Salmon fillet, 5 oz per person
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1 TB Olive Oil
  • 1 TB Lemon Juice
  • 1 tsp Dill
  • 1/2 tsp Basil
  • 1 TB Dijon Mustard
  • 1TB Mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp Horseradish
  • 2 TB Bread crumbs or Panko

Put the salmon in a ceramic baking dish that fits snugly.  Pour white wine, lemon juice and olive oil over fish.  Top with herbs of your choice – I usually use dill and add other herbs (basil, thyme, marjoram, etc.) as the modd hits me.  Preheat oven to 425 and place baking dish in oven for 15 minutes. 

While fish is cooking combine dijon mustard, mayonnaise and horseradish in a small bowl.  (Feel free to adjust proportions to taste.)  Remove fish from oven and pour off liquid.  Top fish with sauce and breadcrumbs and put under broiler for 2 – 3 minutes or until top is bubbly and breadcrumbs are browned but not burned.  Remove and serve.

About emenuplan
I love to cook and love to eat. I work full time and have a family so managing good meals during the week requires organization. I'm hoping to share my weekly menu plans and recipes to make things a little easier for those who want to follow along.

Leave a Reply

